Who we are

Stop Sanfilippo Foundation is an independent non profit organization, dedicated to the encouragement of Sanfilippo Syndrome research and development.

In 2012 we became a foundation after a year working as an association.

Stop Sanfilippo is registered in the National Registry of Foundations with the number 28-1697

Registered Office at Avda. Camino de Santiago, 45

28050 Madrid.

NIF G86526662

We are members of: Federación Española de Enfermedades Raras (FEDER) Organización Europea de Enfermedades Raras (EURORDIS) Asociación Española de Fundaciones (AEF)

Board/ Foundation:

  • Emilio López Alvarez. Presidente
  • Cristina Sánchez Salas. Vicepresidenta
  • Miguel Sevilla González. Secretario
  • Naiara Leire García de Andoin Alonso
  • Elvira Olaso Montero

Scientific Advisory Committee:

María Pilar Pérez de Obanos

María Pilar Pérez de Obanos
Graduated with a degree in Biochemistry she obtained a PhD in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology from the University of Navarra. She also holds a Master’s in Intellectual Property and Patents from the ESAME Foundation. María Pilar has over 7 years of experience in both the pharmaceutical and biotech industry working in Medical Affairs or R&D department in companies such as Digna Biotech and Cinfa. She has experience in biologics development from preclinical to clinical phases covering the different aspects of the projects.
Maurizio Buggio

Maurizio Buggio
First degree at the "Universita Degli Studi" of Ferrara, Italy. Graduated at the "Universita Degli Studi" of Ferrara Mayor in Biomolecular and Cellular Biology. European Phd "Surgical Science and Technological Application"
Marie Curie Postdoctoral Research Fellow (EPOS-Iasis, Cyprus) Nanomedicine lab, University of Manchester. Main Activity: gene silencing using SiRNA complexed onto carbon nanostructures
Javier Dotor

Javier DotorBiohope S.L. – Medical Director
Degree in Biological Sciences and PhD in Cell Biology at the University of Navarra in 2004. He has over 10 years of experience in the biotechnological
industry field in companies like Digna Biotech, Natac Biotech and Azurebio.Between 2005 and 2014 focused on the development of products and projects related to preclinical and clinical studies for the treatment of orphan diseases.


Medical Advisory Committee:

Luis Gutierrez-Solana

Dr. Luis Gutierrez-SolanaHospital Niño Jesús – Coordinator of the Neurology Section
Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery in 1982 from the Complutense University of Madrid. He has extensive experience in metabolic diseases, as demonstrated by his nearly twenty scientific publications as well as many other books and manuals. He acts as a speaker or moderator at various international conferences and teaches courses and seminars on the subject. Dr. Gutierrez-Solana is one of the few experts on these diseases in Spain.

Pablo Sanjurjo

Dr. Pablo Sanjurjo Crespo. Hospital de Cruces, Bilbao – Clinical Chief of the Metabolism Section of Pediatrics.
Professor of Pediatrics and Winner of the Reina Sofia Prize for Research. Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery in 1967 from the University of Valladolid.

Metabolic disease expert. He has published over 150 articles in medical journals and has participated in over 20 research projects.